Wedding venues and planners in Japan that take overseas couples
If you want to get married in Japan, the first questions are usually: can foreigners do it, who do we book with, and what does it cost? Plenty of hotels, resorts, kimono houses and planners in Japan take couples from overseas. This guide lists only providers whose official sites say they accept international couples, grouped into four kinds of wedding, and compares their published prices, what's included, languages and booking times as of October 2026. Each provider has a full profile in our Japan wedding studio database, and sources are listed at the end.
- Hotels and resorts: Four Seasons Kyoto chapel ceremonies from ¥715,000 (weekdays) and The Busena Terrace in Okinawa from ¥297,000. Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo's Shinto ceremony for 6 people is ¥1,760,000 (tax and service included, with two nights in a suite). Hoshino Resorts Tomamu's Chapel on the Water has a ceremony base fee of ¥165,000 (daytime).
- Shrine or temple in kimono: Kyokane's shrine and temple ceremonies start at ¥239,800 plus the ceremony fee. Yumeyakata's prayer at Umenomiya Taisha plus a location shoot is ¥195,800.
- Elopements: Nomad Weddings from ¥520,000, Elope in Japan's Tokyo guide range ¥680,000–¥950,000, 37 Frames from ¥1,000,000.
- Chinese-speaking couples: Watabe Wedding plans Okinawa chapel weddings through its Taiwan and Hong Kong branches, from NT$137,000 (2026 reference).
- A ceremony in Japan is not a legal marriage. Registration is a separate step.
Can foreigners get married in Japan?
Yes. Every provider below says on its official site, in English or Chinese, that it accepts international couples, or has offices in Taiwan or Hong Kong. Two things to know first:
- A ceremony isn't a legal marriage. In Japan, only registration at a city or ward office makes a marriage legal. Most overseas couples register at home and hold a ceremony in Japan. See Getting married in Japan as a foreigner for the legal route.
- Shrine ceremonies are in Japanese. 37 Frames and Elope in Japan both say shrine ceremonies are conducted in Japanese and explained to you beforehand.
The options at a glance
| Provider | Type | Area | From (official) | Language |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo | Hotel Shinto or chapel ceremony | Tokyo | ¥1,760,000 (6 guests, tax incl.) | English coordinator |
| Hoshino Resorts Tomamu (Chapel on the Water) | Resort chapel | Hokkaido | ¥165,000 (ceremony base fee) | Chinese via Beijing, Hong Kong and Taiwan offices |
| Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto | Hotel chapel ceremony | Kyoto | ¥715,000 (weekdays, tax and service incl.) | Multilingual wedding specialist |
| Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Otemachi | Hotel wedding + reception | Tokyo | ¥2,600,000 (50 guests, tax and service incl.) | English pages |
| The Busena Terrace | Resort seaside ceremony | Okinawa | ¥297,000 (tax incl.) | English pages |
| Halekulani Okinawa | Resort wedding + reception | Okinawa | ¥1,600,946 (couple + 8 guests, tax incl.) | English pages |
| Kyokane | Shrine or temple ceremony in kimono | Kyoto, Tokyo | ¥239,800 + ceremony fee | English page |
| JAPAN WEDDINGS | Kyoto shrine wedding package | Kyoto (photos nationwide) | ¥320,000 (tax not stated) | English-speaking staff |
| WAKON STYLE | Shrine or temple ceremony planner | Tokyo, Kyoto, Nara and more | ¥220,000 (tax and interpreter incl.; shrine fee extra) | English–Japanese interpreter |
| Yumeyakata | Shrine prayer + kimono shoot | Kyoto | ¥195,800 | English-speaking staff |
| 37 Frames | Elopement and wedding planning | Across Japan | ¥1,000,000 | English |
| Elope in Japan | Elopement, vow renewal | Tokyo, Kyoto and more | ¥680,000 (Tokyo guide range) | English, Japanese |
| Henry Delac Weddings | Elopement photography + planning | Across Japan | $5,100 (currency not stated) | English |
| Nomad Weddings Japan | Elopement planning | Hokkaido, Okinawa and more | ¥520,000 (tax incl.) | English |
| Watabe Wedding Okinawa | Resort chapel | Okinawa | NT$137,000 (2026 reference) | Chinese (Taiwan and Hong Kong branches) |
Grouped by type. Partnerships don't change the order or what we write. Flights and hotels are extra, except for the two nights included in Chinzanso's ceremony packages.
1. Hotels and resorts
Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo
A garden hotel in Bunkyo, Tokyo, with English packages for international couples. A dedicated English-speaking coordinator plans with you remotely by video call and email, and the site has Traditional Chinese pages.
- Price (tax and service included): Shinto ceremony ¥1,760,000 for 6 people, ¥2,365,000 for 20; chapel ceremony ¥1,815,000 for 6, ¥2,530,000 for 20.
- Included: the ceremony (the Shinto package includes the shrine offering), attire for the couple, dressing and bridal hair and makeup, photography with 400 digital images, a banquet room, food and drinks, table flowers, and two nights in a Prime Executive Suite.
- The hotel has two chapels and three shrines on site.
Hoshino Resorts Tomamu: Chapel on the Water
The chapel at Hoshino Resorts Tomamu in Hokkaido. Its Traditional Chinese page lists overseas wedding contacts in Beijing, Hong Kong and Taiwan; the plan pages themselves are in Japanese.
- Price: couple-only wedding at the Chapel on the Water, ceremony base fee ¥165,000 (daytime) or ¥209,000 (night). The page doesn't say whether tax is included.
- Included: ceremony fee, officiant, chapel flowers, sound. Outfits, hair and makeup, dressing, bouquet and photos are extra.
- Booking: opens 18 months ahead. The Ice Chapel is open only from about mid-January to mid-February.
Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto
A hotel in Higashiyama, Kyoto. Its English wedding site says a multilingual on-site wedding specialist plans with you.
- Price (tax and service included): chapel ceremony from ¥715,000 (weekdays only, up to 100 guests); photo package ¥822,250 (2–8 people, with two nights in a Premier King Room and breakfast); dinner receptions ¥75,900 per person (minimum spend applies).
- The chapel ceremony includes a celebrant and candle ceremony, choir, violin or harp, and chapel flowers. The packages page also mentions a Shinto ceremony at a shrine.
Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Otemachi
- Price: Grand Wedding (50–150 guests) ¥2,600,000 for 50 guests, ¥33,000 per extra guest (tax and service included). Book by December 31, 2026.
- Extras: two nights in a suite for the couple, bouquet and boutonniere, 20% off stays for guests. Wedding pages are in English and Japanese.
Four Seasons Otemachi profile ›
The Busena Terrace (Nago, Okinawa)
- Price (tax included): open-air lobby wedding ¥297,000 / garden wedding ¥326,700 / yacht wedding ¥415,800.
- The ceremony fee includes a pastor, choir, musicians, a bridal attendant, flowers and a wedding certificate. Ceremonies are Western-style; ask about Shinto-style.
- The English FAQ says you can plan by email, phone or Zoom.
Halekulani Okinawa
- Price (tax included): Hau Terrace Wedding (weekends) from ¥1,600,946 for the couple plus 8 guests, ¥51,975 per extra guest. Prices are shown on the Japanese plan page of the official site.
- Included: the ceremony, a course dinner and drinks, dressing and hair and makeup, snapshot photography and two nights in an Executive Ocean Suite, among others. Attire is extra.
2. A shrine or temple ceremony in kimono
Kyokane (Kyoto and Ginza, Tokyo)
A long-established Kyoto kimono house with an English page for shrine and temple weddings and kimono photos.
- Price: traditional shrine or temple ceremony from ¥239,800, plus the ceremony fee. The English page doesn't say whether tax is included.
- Included: kimono ensembles, bridal hair and makeup, a stylist, a ceremony planner, on-site attendants, kimono transport.
- Ceremonies can be held at shrines and temples across Japan. The English page doesn't say whether staff speak English.
Yumeyakata (Kyoto)
A Kyoto kimono rental shop. Its English page says English-speaking staff will translate for you, and it has Traditional Chinese pages too.
- Price: a prayer at Umenomiya Taisha (about 20 minutes) plus a location shoot ¥195,800; location shoot only at Umenomiya ¥173,800; Gion location shoot ¥151,800. The page doesn't say whether tax is included.
- Location plans include: wedding kimono rental and dressing, women's hair and makeup, men's hair, an assistant, a round-trip taxi, the shoot and about 200 photo files.
For what happens during the ceremony, see Shinto weddings in Japan.
3. Elopements
An elopement here means a small ceremony for the two of you, or with two or three guests, at a shrine, a garden, a bamboo grove or a snowy field, with photos. The four providers below work mainly in English. For rules and permits, see How to elope in Japan.
37 Frames
- Price: no packages. Couple-only elopements from ¥1M, most between ¥1M and ¥3M. Tax treatment not stated.
- The starting price includes planning, 37 Frames photography and most location permits; the quote includes the team's travel. Accommodation, dining, flowers, hair and makeup, a celebrant and film are extra.
- Language: planning in English; on the day the team works in English and Japanese.
- Booking: enquire about a year ahead. Its site says spring and autumn 2026 are fully booked.
Elope in Japan
- Price: no fixed elopement packages. Its 2026 guide range for the couple plus up to two guests: Tokyo ¥680,000–¥950,000 without kimono, ¥770,000–¥1,300,000 with kimono; Kyoto ¥850,000–¥1,250,000 / ¥950,000–¥1,500,000. Vow renewals from ¥250,000 (off-peak only).
- Language: bilingual English and Japanese planners; the FAQ says you don't need an interpreter.
- Booking: for spring and autumn, book when the calendar opens in January of the year before.
Henry Delac Weddings
- Price: Core $5,100 (4 hours) / Signature $6,800 (8 hours) / Multi-day $11,800 (16 hours over two days). The site shows "$" only and doesn't state the currency or tax.
- Included: planning and coordination, location and permit guidance, a timeline with a weather backup, photography, and coordination of hair and makeup, florists and officiants.
Nomad Weddings Japan
- Price (tax included): elopement packages from ¥520,000; Niseko ceremony package from ¥820,000; Miyakojima package from ¥650,000.
- Language: the planners are Japanese, fluent in English, and handle all Japanese communication with venues.
- Booking: 10–12 months ahead for peak dates such as cherry blossom season, Christmas and New Year, Golden Week and Chinese New Year; 3–6 months otherwise.
4. Planning in Chinese: Watabe Wedding, Okinawa
A Japanese resort wedding company with branches in Taiwan and Hong Kong, which plan Okinawa chapel weddings in Chinese. Its FAQ says a translator accompanies you on the day, and packages include a Chinese- or English-speaking coordinator.
- Price: the Taiwan branch's 2026 reference starting budgets for Okinawa are Monterey NT$137,000, Cristea and Siele NT$147,000, Celeste NT$155,000 and Aquagrace NT$170,000. The final price depends on the date and add-ons.
- Booking: 6–12 months ahead is recommended; most chapels open bookings 18 months ahead.
Watabe Wedding Okinawa profile ›
5. Booking a shrine directly
Some shrines take bookings from international couples themselves. These eight say so on their official sites, but the ceremony is usually in Japanese and booking often means a phone call or a visit, so many couples go through a planner instead. The offering (hatsuhoryo) is paid to the shrine on top of the plan price.
| Shrine | Area | Price (official) | For international couples |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heian Jingu Kaikan | Kyoto | Ceremony only ¥418,000 (tax incl.) + offering ¥150,000–300,000 | English support; international-couple plan; all meetings can be online |
| Kamigamo Shrine | Kyoto | Plan ¥363,000 (tax incl.) + offering from ¥150,000 | English ceremony guide and contact form; booking by phone or visit |
| Meiji Jingu | Tokyo | Ceremony only from ¥717,930 | English contact form; ceremony entirely in Japanese; both must attend a briefing in person |
| Rokusho Jinja | Oiso, Kanagawa | Offering ¥80,000 | Ceremonies can be arranged and conducted in English |
| Shimogamo Shrine | Kyoto | Plan ¥312,180 (tax incl.) + offering ¥150,000 | Foreign couples can apply; bring an interpreter if you don't speak Japanese |
| Sumiyoshi Taisha | Osaka | Family wedding for 6 from ¥800,000 (limited period) | English wedding page; any nationality welcome |
| Tamatsukuri Inari Shrine | Osaka | Ceremony plan ¥323,400 (tax incl.) | Says in English it welcomes couples from around the world |
| Tokyo Daijingu | Tokyo | Ceremony + meal for 10 from ¥1,115,420 (campaign price) | Japanese site; overseas couples can plan by email |
See Shinto weddings in Japan for what happens during the ceremony.
How to choose
- Ceremony, reception and stay in one place: a hotel package such as Chinzanso's bundles all three.
- A shiromuku and a shrine: Kyokane or Yumeyakata in Kyoto. The ceremony is in Japanese, so ask about interpreting.
- Just the two of you, somewhere scenic: an elopement planner. Prices vary widely, so check what each quote covers.
- Planning in Chinese with family coming along: Watabe's Taiwan and Hong Kong branches.
What to check before you book
- What the quote covers: outfits, hair and makeup, photos, the officiant, venue fees and the team's travel.
- Tax: several of these providers don't say whether their prices include tax.
- Timing: chapels often open 18 months ahead, and popular elopement planners fill up a year in advance for spring and autumn.
- Legal marriage: the ceremony doesn't register your marriage.
- Weather: for an outdoor ceremony, ask about the rain plan.
Cancellation terms, payment and delivery times for each provider are on its page in the studio database.
Sources
- Hotel Chinzanso Tokyo: Wedding
- Hoshino Resorts Tomamu: Wedding
- KYOKANE (English)
- Yumeyakata: Wedding
- 37 Frames
- Elope in Japan
- Henry Delac Weddings
- Heian Jingu Kaikan
- Kamigamo Shrine
- Meiji Jingu
- Rokusho Jinja
- Shimogamo Shrine
- Sumiyoshi Taisha
- Tamatsukuri Inari Shrine
- Tokyo Daijingu
- Four Seasons Hotel Kyoto
- Four Seasons Hotel Tokyo at Otemachi
- The Busena Terrace
- Halekulani Okinawa
- Nomad Weddings Japan
- Watabe Wedding Taiwan: Okinawa
Prices and terms were checked on each official site in October 2026 and may change. Confirm the latest details with the provider before you book.